Gardening is More Than “Something to Do”

I’ve heard several people utter variations of the phrase, “Oh, it’s something to do.”

When I bought pansies last autumn, the cashier in the greenhouse said, “Well, that’ll give you something to do when you get home.”

A family friend spoke of crafting: “It gives me something to do.”

My friendly neighbor responded to my teaching ESL: “That’s interesting. It’s something to do.”

Is boredom trending?

Feel free to wash my dishes or sweep my floor. But we don’t need something to do; we need something to love.

If you need something to love, dear neighbor, join me in my backyard. My husband and I continued to cut down our dormant wildflower garden last weekend. We enjoyed the unnaturally warm weather for one of the last days in February. I noticed that the poppy seeds I had sprinkled underneath the straw had germinated. Visualizing a field of ox-blood red poppies, I felt at peace.

Today, I harvested leeks and parsley from the hoop-house at NCC East 40 Community Garden. My kitchen window welcomed the breeze as I washed the greens in the sink. Cleansing the food that survived the mild winter doesn’t just give me something to do. In those moments of uprooting a leek and rubbing off its dirt, I overlook calling the electric company about an expensive bill. I fall into nature’s balance, focusing on the present moment and appreciating the organic food before me. Mother Nature offers us the opportunity to grow food and flowers and to share those natural wonders with our loved ones.

You, too, have something to love. Though perhaps you’ve neglected it. Wishing to feel productive at the end of the day, we accomplish the bare essentials instead of nourishing our souls. We dive head-first into work and delay what brings us joy.

I understand. My tendency is to call the electric company before taking a three-mile walk. Lately I go through the motions: chores, work, television, and repeat. That’s why I’m making an effort to treat myself.

Life is fleeting. Spot those moments when you’re lacking fulfillment, and fill them with passion.

2 thoughts on “Gardening is More Than “Something to Do”

  1. Interestingly enough, the two main priorities for my desiring to garden (I am still terrible at it, considering I have no routine care habits) are to someday be able to grow my own food, and to be in the moment with Mother Earth.

    All too often, I agree – we find things just to have “something to do.” This can be useful in the interim if we need a distraction, but can contribute to a cycle of passing time without actually living in time.

    Going to try Parsley, Rosemary, and Basil this year.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Insightful and gorgeous writing, my soul is nourished, thank you for sharing your sentiments and your inner thoughts with the world♡

    Like

Leave a Reply

